NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Day 2 Results and Tournament Standings

New Japan’s Best of the Super Juniors tournament started yesterday with a bang. You can check out the complete results from Day 1 here.

The Best of the Super Juniors (also known as BOSJ) is essentially the Junior Heavyweight version of the G1 Climax tournament that takes place in July. Competitors are split into two Blocks and must compete with every wrestler in their block round robin style. Points are awarded for victories and the eventual winners of the two groups face off in a final match to determine the winner. Here are the results from Day 2:

Non Tournament Matches

Tiger Mask IV, Hirai Kawato & Tomoyuki Oka b. Katsuya Kitamura, Shota Umino & Tetsuhiro Yagi – Kawato made Yagi submit with a single leg crab

Yoshinobu Kanemaru & El Desperado b. Volador Jr. & ACH – Desperado took the win for his team after hitting a jumping crucifix hold on ACH

Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa & Yujiro Takahashi b. Raymond Rowe, Hanson & David Finlay  – Tama Tonga secured the win for Bullet Club when he hit the Gun Stun on Finlay

Tetsuya Naito, SANADA, EVIL & BUSHI b. Satoshi Kojima, Juice Robinson, Ryusuke Taguchi & KUSHIDA – Bushi used the Bushiroll on KUSHIDA to take the win in just over 9 minutes

A BLOCK Results

Taichi b. TAKA Michinoku – Taichi took the win with his patented Gedo Clutch in a very entertaining DDT style ‘match’

Dragon Lee b. Marty Scurll – Dragon takes his second win in the tournament after hitting a Patellas en el Pecho on Scurll for the pinfall win

Hiromu Takahashi b. Jushin Thunder Liger – Hiromu defeated the legend Liger with his TIME BOMB finishing move. This was his first win and Liger’s second loss

Will Ospreay b. Ricochet – Ospreay took the win in a mesmerising match after hitting the OsCutter

Here are the current tournament standings:

A Block

  • Dragon Lee – 4 Points
  • Hiromu Takahashi – 2 Points
  • Marty Scurll – 2 Points
  • Ricochet – 2 Points
  • Taichi – 2 Points
  • Taka Michinoku – 2 Points
  • Will Ospreay – 2 Points
  • Jushin Thunder Liger – 0 Points

B Block 

  • ACH – 2 Points
  • El Desperado – 2 Points
  • Ryusuke Taguchi – 2 Points
  • Volador Jr – 2 Points
  • BUSHI – 0 Points
  • KUSHIDA – 0 Points
  • Tiger Mask IV – 0 Points
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru – 0 Points