WWE SummerSlam 2014 Preview and Predictions

The hottest event of the summer is practically hours away at this point. The card is set, the matches have been hyped, and it’s time to sit back and enjoy the show (after making a few predictions, of course). Here are my predictions for this Sunday’s pay-per-view.

AJ Lee (Divas Champion) vs. Paige

Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 7.02.28 PM

Paige has been a thorn in AJ Lee’s side since arriving on the main roster, especially since turning heel. She has had the upper hand on the champ over the past few weeks, even pushing her off of the stage on SmackDown at one point. Although Paige has been booked strong, the company realizes AJ Lee is the most marketable Diva on the roster right now. She retains after forcing Paige to tap out to the Black Widow.

Result: AJ Lee by submission

The Miz (Intercontinental Champion) vs. Dolph Ziggler

Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 7.01.17 PM

Since his return, the Miz has sort of fallen flat with the audience, especially since picking up the title at last month’s Battleground. Over the past year, it’s safe to assume Dolph Ziggler will lose any match of even moderate significance, but this could be different, as he has been booked strong and is still over with the fans.

The company is trying to promote the Miz’s dud of a movie that will soon be gracing dollar bins across the country, but I think they realize his title reign isn’t catching on. Dolph Ziggler will pick up the upset victory on Sunday after hitting a Zig Zag in what will likely be one of the shorter matches on the card.

Winner: Dolph Ziggler by pinfall

 Jack Swagger vs. Rusev (Flag Match)

Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 7.00.20 PM

Call me crazy, but this is perhaps my most anticipated match on the card. The feud has been built very well and given adequate time to develop. Fans still aren’t entirely sure of what the rules will be for this one, but I’m assuming it’s going to involve the winning wrestler grabbing his country’s flag and waving it proudly in the center of the ring to end the contest.

This is the perfect opportunity for Swagger to go over Rusev and extend the feud a bit longer. He doesn’t have to pin the Bulgarian Brute to win so he won’t look as weak as he would if he lost via pinfall or submission. Expect the managers to also play a role in this one, and expect Swagger to walk out victorious to set up a rubber match at Night of Champions.

Winner: Jack Swagger

 Chris Jericho vs. Bray Wyatt

Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 7.01.58 PM

Much like the Rusev/Swagger feud, this program has also been given a proper build. The promo/interview the two cut last week on Raw was awesome and really hyped the match well.

Jericho won last month after hitting Wyatt with a Code Breaker. It will be even tougher for Wyatt this time around, as both Harper and Rowan are banned from ringside. This will likely be a back-and-forth contest with several near falls, with the in-ring work hopefully being a little more polished than last month’s affair. There’s no way Wyatt loses again, however, and will walk out victorious after forcing Y2J to succumb to Sister Abigail.

Winner: Bray Wyatt by pinfall

1 of 2
  • Download the SEScoops Mobile App for iOS (Android coming soon):


  • Rafael Vargas Jr.

    If These Predictions Does Happen It’ll Be Another Sunday Night Raw

  • austizzy1 .

    I have a gut feeling that in the Brock and Cena fight something will happen in the end to where we won’t be talking about the winner. I don’t believe WWE will have the show end with Brock or Cena holding the title at the end that is to easy Summerslam has had its number of surprises to end the show in the last few years

    • Marko

      You mean like, Seth Rollins possibly cashing-in the briefcase to walk out as champion or a major return from a veteran wrestler or the debut of an NXT star?

      • austizzy1 .

        Like a return or something kind of like Kevin Nash returning at SS 2011

  • MajorHeel

    Ziggler will not win

    • http://www.sescoops.com Undertaker316

      i agree while i do want ziggler to win they made it clear on raw that he would lose by making ziggler look strong

      • MajorHeel

        WWE just doesn’t like him for some reason. Miz and Sheamus will unify the titles at Night of Champions most likely.

        • http://www.sescoops.com Undertaker316

          nah i think ziggler will win the ic title at noc, it seems they are starting to push ziggler again

  • rudy

    I couldnt agree more with this article regarding brock vs cena. Cena will go over. If he doesnt, its solely because of the streak. But possibly not even that will matter. All that matters to wwe is Cenas marketability.

  • Aperture

    This is the same BS that we see all the time. If history says anything, it will say that Cena is going to keep that title or Brock is going to win by interference. I would love Brock to win clean (as a lot of people), but I guess I will have to settle for half of the cake.

    For people complaining about Brock not going to be able to be on Raw every week, what about Cena? Cena is shooting a movie, so he will barely be there if I am not mistaken. Back then, champions would only compete at 1 show per month. WWE relying on the champion to be there every week just goes to show how bad the product is. Fans wouldn’t care if Brock was gone for two weeks if everyone else on the roster was kicking a**. WWE can just add Lesnar to more episodes and have him come on and fight random people for heat. If Brock wins then Roman Reigns is going to go over and then be marketed as the “Conqueror of the Conqueror”.

    • Gotstodobetter

      Stop complaining dude smh

    • http://www.rabidpictures.com yrabadi

      Cena’s winning. :)

  • Buzzard Follower

    These are not predictions these are spoilers
    ziggler def miz dq/countout miz retains
    aj def paige
    bray def y2j
    swagger def rusev
    roman def rko
    rollins def ambrose
    steph def brie

    • LACenaFan

      Where’d you get these “Spoilers”? And this is basically what Sescoops said other than the dq/countout in Ziggler vs Miz..

      • http://www.sescoops.com Undertaker316

        these spoiler are from this mondays raw because who ever they make look the strongest on the raw before the ppv ends up losing at the ppv

        • LACenaFan

          Ok. Explain these:
          -Brock Lesnar F5s Undertaker 3/31/14 RAW, beats Undertaker 6 days later at Wrestlemania.
          -Kane and Orton dismantle Bryan 3/31/14 RAW, beats Orton, Batista, and Triple H at Wrestlemania.

          • RAWFan

            Your point about Lesnar may hold some weight, but your point about Daniel Bryan supports Taker’s argument and is the complete opposite of what you’re trying to say. The guy who is looking weaker throughout the rivalry almost always ends up taking the big match, which is exactly what happened in Bryan’s case.

          • http://www.sescoops.com Undertaker316

            but taker destroyed lesnar in all the other confrontations they had on raw

      • Buzzard Follower

        I was emulating paul heyman

  • LACenaFan

    I think Cena’s gonna walk away the champ, but Brock coming back and taking it at Night of Champions. Maybe a Seth Rollins cash-in after a Cena victory? You guys stated Cena vs Rollins for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship was scheduled for live events or dark matches after Summerslam.

    • FanatasticKid

      Cena winning is the worst scenario.
      Brock got to be the beast who conquered the streak, the man who will conquear Cena.

  • CM_Rules

    You know what I think? think yall high if you belive Lesnar is winning that match

  • Juan Diego Gomez Sanchez Perez

    Brock Limpwrist needs to step into his mother’s bedroom and see me with Sable…disrespectfully banging her face into the headboard whilst I do many other, uh, “pleasurable” things!

  • http://www.sescoops.com Undertaker316

    im 98% certain seth rollins will walk out of summer slam as champion and it will be the same scenario i have been commenting brock will destroy john cena and cesaro (or someone else)will attack lesnar causing a DQ allowing rollins to cash in on a beat up cena

  • Kevin G. Wolfe

    I’m thinking Orton over Reigns. I just have a feeling.

  • WWEwillgetbetter

    Imagine towards the end of the match, Lesnar has cena in a chokehold, all of a sudden Angles music hits and out comes Angle! Olympic slam to Lesnar, Olympic slam to Cena!! Angles back!! The match would end in a DQ which sounds disappointing but with that return I’d be all for it.. I think that’d be an awesome way for him to come back…hey i can dream right

  • ricky

    Maybe cesaro will cost lesnar the match, that’s his face turn, no part timer as champion and the poster boy keeps the title, ultimately leading to cesaro vs leaner at NOC. I don’t think cena will lose title either way

  • Rockfan84


  • CheapOp

    I feel like Rollins v Ambrose and Cena v Lesnar are linked. If Rollins wins, Cena wins and Rollins cashes in. If Ambrose wins, Lesnar wins. I can’t imagine Cena retaining at the send of SS. I also can’t imagine Ambrose winning and allowing Rollins to cash in.

  • Merve the Swerve

    What a lame lineup.

    Couldn’t give a damn about the two women’s matches. I’d make these matches my bathroom break if they where on Raw, I’m sure not paying $50-60 to see it on ppv.

    Miz vs Ziggler – Meh. I like Ziggler but this feud has no fire and I doubt Zigg is getting the win anyway.

    Swagger vs Rusev. – I like Rusev but Swagger still sucks. This is a feud you’d see 20 years ago. I’m Canadian, why do I give a damn about a USA chant? Most of the world has almost as low an opinion of America as they do Russia so who to cheer for? Seeing Lana is the only positive to this match. Plus, a few weeks ago Swag and Zeb were racist teabaggers now I’m supposed to like them? Horrible faceturn if you can call it that.

    Roman 4moves Reigns vs The stale Viper. – Not that this match couldn’t be entertaining, it just seems like its going to be a predictable match with a predictable ending.

    Rollins vs Ambrose – This is the only match that has real potential. They could have made this feud so much better in the leading up to it but I hope these young guys really tear it up. With the stupid Lumberjack stipulation I’m worried that it will hurt the match more than help. Please, dear god NO More Kane interference.

    Bray vs Chris Jericho – So GD Boring. I’m just going to say it, it hurts because I loved the guy but Jericho is stale and boring. This is his worst ‘Return’ yet. So many other interesting feuds Bray could be in, this feels randomly thrown together. Its not helping make Bray look any stronger after a year of making him look weak.

    Lesner vs Cena. – We’ve seen this before. Heyman did a great job as the hype man but with a guy like Lesner that wrestles so few matches I was looking forward to a fresh match. I’ve Cena this before.

  • http://www.rabidpictures.com yrabadi

    I don’t know what Miz you’re watching/listening to on a nightly basis… he’s pretty over and his character is actually quite fun to watch in my opinion. I doubt Ziggler goes over.

  • http://www.soundcloud.com/cfumao Christobal Fumâo