NJPW Announces New Japan Cup 2018 Participants


The 2018 New Japan Cup participants have been revealed.

NJPW held a press conference tonight (Feb. 25) to announce the participants. This year’s New Japan Cup will begin on March 9. The single-elimination tournament will run through March 21. NJPW World will be airing all of the events live.

The winner of the New Japan Cup will receive a title shot of his choosing. This means that the one who emerges victorious isn’t guaranteed to go after the IWGP Heavyweight title. He can take on the United States, Intercontinental, or even the NEVER Openweight champion.

- Advertisement -

At Sakura Genesis on April 1, the winner will get his title opportunity. Last year’s winner was¬†Katsuyori Shibata. He choose to challenge Kazuchika Okada for the IWGP Heavyweight title. Shibata lost the match and suffered a life-threatening head injury. He is doing much better now, however his in-ring career is likely over.

The last New Japan Cup winner to be successful in his title match was Tetusya Naito. He won the 2016 New Japan Cup and went on to defeat Okada at Invasion Attack for the IWGP Heavyweight title.

Below is the list of participants for the 2018 New Japan Cup.

New Japan Cup 2018 Participants

Michael Elgin

Tomohiro Ishii

Juice Robinson

Yujiro Takahashi

Hiroshi Tanahashi

Bad Luck Fale

Lance Archer


Zack Sabre Jr.

Tetsuya Naito


Chuckie T


Davey Boy Smith Jr.

Kota Ibushi

Toru Yano