Cody Rhodes Becomes Inaugural AEW TNT Champion

Cody Rhodes is the champion

The inaugural AEW TNT Champion has been crowned and it’s Cody Rhodes. 

At the AEW Double or Nothing pay-per-view event in Jacksonville, Florida at Daily’s Place, All Elite Wrestling booked this championship match between Rhodes and Lance Archer that served as the tournament finals. 

Archer controlled the first half of the contest. At one point due to outside interference, Arn Anderson, the coach of Rhodes, was tossed from ringside. Mike Tyson, who was there to present the title to the winner, scared off Jake Roberts, the manager of Archer, after Roberts teased bringing a snake into the ring.

The finish saw Cody hit Cross Rhodes twice for the win. 

The eight-man tournament was announced on March 30, 2020 and kicked off on the April 8th episode of Dynamite to crown its inaugural TNT Champion. 

Kip Sabian vs. Dustin Rhodes and Lance Archer vs. Colt Cabana was booked for the right side of the bracket while on the left side feared Cody vs. Shawn Spears and Darby Allin vs. Sammy Guevara. 

The semi-finals of the tournament took place on the April 29th episode of Dynamite. The pair of matches saw Rhodes vs. Allin and Rhodes against Archer. 

As seen on the show, Cody went over Allin in the opening match while Archer beat Rhodes in the main event.