G1 Climax 2018 Night 1 Results

New Japan Pro Wrestling’s annual G1 Climax is widely regarded as the greatest tournament in pro wrestling today. Two blocks of competitors will compete in a round robin format to determine the number 1 contender to Kenny Omega’s IWGP Heavyweight Championship at January 4th’s Wrestle Kingdom. The tournament has now begun and here are the results from Night 1:

Non Tournament Bouts:

Hirooki Goto & Jado b. Ren Narita & Toa Henare

SHO & Tomohiro Ishii b. Toru Yano & YOH

Guerrillas of Destiny Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa b. David Finlay & Juice Robinson

TAKA Michinoku & Zack Sabre, Jr. b. Kota Ibushi & Yujiro Takahashi

SANADA & Tetsuya Naito b. Chase Owens & Kenny Omega

A BLOCK Matches 

Togi Makabe b. YOSHI-HASHI – Makabe took the pinfall win after hitting the King Kong Knee Drop

Hangman Page b. Bad Luck Fale – Page won the match via disqualification after the Guerrillas of Destiny interfered. The Golden Lovers later made the save

Michael Elgin b. EVIL – Elgin won via pinfall with the Elgin Bomb

Hiroshi Tanahashi b. Minoru Suzuki – Tanahashi won via pinfall after hitting the High Fly Flow

“Switchblade” Jay White b. Kazuchika Okada – White took the shock win via pinfall after hitting the Blade Runner after a ref bump and a low blow. After the match he cut a promo claiming that CHAOS was “his” stable.