G1 Climax Night 16 Results, Updated Standings and Who Can Win B Block?

New Japan Pro Wrestling’s annual G1 Climax is widely regarded as the greatest tournament in pro wrestling today. Two blocks of competitors are competing in a round robin format to determine the number 1 contender to Kenny Omega’s IWGP Heavyweight Championship at January 4th’s Wrestle Kingdom. The tournament is nearing the later stages and here are the results from Night 16:

Tomohiro Ishii b. Juice Robinson – Ishii took the pinfall win after hitting an Enziguri followed by a Brainbuster

Zack Sabre, Jr. b. Hirooki Goto – ZSJ took the pinfall win with the European Clutch

Tama Tonga b. Kota Ibushi – Tonga took the pinfall win after hitting a modified ‘pop-up’ Gun Stun

Toru Yano b. Kenny Omega – Yano took the pinfall win after Tama Tonga hit a Gun Stun on Omega and put Yano on top of the IWGP Heavyweight Champion

Tetsuya Naito b. SANADA – Naito took the pinfall win after hitting the Destino on his Los Ingobernables De Japon stablemate

Kota Ibushi, Kenny Omega and Tetsuya Naito are now all capable of winning B Block. Ibushi and Omega HAVE to win to make it to the final as they both have a tiebreaker win over Naito. If Omega vs Ibushi ends in a draw and Naito wins against Zack Sabre Jr then he wins B Block

Here’s the updated standings:

Tanahashi 14 Kenny Omega 12
Jay White 12 Tetsuya Naito 12
Kazuchika Okada 12 Kota Ibushi 10
Evil 8 Zack Sabre Jr. 10
Minoru Suzuki 8 Sanada 8
Michael Elgin 6 Tomohiro Ishii 8
Hangman Page 6 Hirooki Goto 6
Bad Luck Fale 6 Tama Tonga 6
Togi Makabe 4 Juice Robinson 4
Yoshi-Hashi 4 Toru Yano 4


You can find the results for Night 1 here, Night 2 hereNight 3 hereNight 4 hereNight 5 here, Night 6 hereNight 7 hereNight 8 hereNight 9 hereNight 10 hereNight 11 here, Night 12 hereNight 13 here, Night 14 here and Night 15 here.