JBL Comments On AJ Styles Surpassing His Record

AJ Styles is now the longest reigning WWE Champion in Smackdown history. He passed JBL’s record recently to earn the honors. JBL himself commented on Styles’ achievement.

John Bradshaw Layfield won the WWE Championship on June 27th, 2004 from Eddie Guerrero. He would hold the title until WrestleMania 21 when he lost the title to John Cena. At that point, the title was drafted from Smackdown to Raw.

In 2016, the second brand extension era began and the WWE Championship once again became the property of Smackdown. AJ Styles won the title from Jinder Mahal on November 7th, 2017 in Manchester and has held for 281 straight days since.

AJ Styles WWE Champion – Longest Reigning WWE Champion in Smackdown History

Styles currently ranks #13 all-time in combined days spent with the WWE Championship. In a little over 40 days, Styles will pass CM Punk for the 12th spot on that list.

Combined Days Spent as WWE Champion:

  1. Bruno Sammartino – 4,040 days
  2. Hulk Hogan – 2,185 days
  3. Bob Backlund – 2,138 days
  4. John Cena – 1, 257 days
  5. Pedro Morales – 1027 days
  6. Randy Orton – 658 days
  7. Bret Hart – 654 days
  8. Triple H – 609 days
  9. Brock Lesnar – 579 days
  10. Stone Cold Steve Austin – 529
  11. “Macho Man” Randy Savage – 520 days
  12. CM Punk – 562
  13. AJ Styles – 421

Styles will take on Samoa Joe for the WWE Championship Sunday at SummerSlam. Joe has yet to win a title belt on the main roster.