Kazuchika Okada Wins IWGP Championship At G1 Supercard

Okada MSG

Kazuchika Okada is once again the IWGP Heavyweight champion. He defeated “Switchblade” Jay White tonight inside Madison Square Garden at ROH/NJPW G1 Supercard.

Okada earned the right to challenge White after winning the 2019 New Japan Cup. He is now a 5x champion. White’s title reign ends after just 55 days and no title defenses.

Kazuchika Okada – IWGP Heavyweight Championship Statistics

Okada holds several IWGP Heavyweight championship records:

  • Most combined days spent as champion: 1,516
  • Longest single reign with the title: 706 days
  • Most consecutive title defenses: 12

He trails Hiroshi Tanahashi in two categories. Tanahashi has held the title 8x and defended it 28x while Okada has won the title just 5x and defended it 25x.

Full Results From G1 Supercard

  1. Kenny Kingwon an Honor Rumble match (eliminated Jushin Liger and the Great Muta to win)
  2. Jeff Cobb defeated Will Ospreay (title vs title) – Cobb wins NEVER Openweight Championship, retains ROH TV title
  3. Rush defeated Dalton Castle
  4. Kelly Kelin defeated Mayu Iwatani (c) – new WOH World Champion
  5. Flip Gordon, Juice Robinson & Mark Haskins defeated Bully Ray, Shane Taylor & Silas Young – Streetfight rules
  6. Dragon Lee defeated Bandido vs Taiji Ishimori (c) – new IWGP Junior Heavyweight champion
  7. Guerillas of Destiny (c) defeated EVIL & Sanada, the Briscoes, and PCO & Brody King – retain IWGP Heavyweight tag team championships, win ROH tag team championships
  8. Zack Sabre Jr. (c) defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi – retains British Heavyweight Championship
  9. Kota Ibushi defeated Tetsuya Naito (c) – new IWGP Intercontinental champion
  10. Matt Taven defeated Jay Lethal (c) and Marty Scurll – ladder match – ROH World Championship
  11. Kazuchika Okada defeated Jay White (c) – new IWGP Heavyweight Champion