Tuesday, August 4, 2020

NJPW G1 Climax 29 Day 19 Results: Tournament Final

Welcome to our results of NJPW G1 Climax 29 Day 19, the tournament final day.

Twenty wrestlers, divided into two blocks of ten, have competed against every other member of their block. Two men stand alone as the finalists from their blocks. Who will be the G1 Climax 29 winner: Kota Ibushi or Jay White? Who will receive the opportunity to challenge for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom 14 in the Tokyo Dome in January 2020?

- Advertisement -

View the full tournament schedule here.

Watch this event on NJPW World with commentary in either English or Japanese.

Day 19 Matches

Clark Connors & Karl Fredericks defeated Ren Narita & Yota Tsuji
The Los Angeles dojo team came out to unique music for the first time. Clark Connors submitted Yota Tsuji with a Boston crab at 9:53. Afterwards, a brawl between the LA and Tokyo young lions ensued and was broken up.

Jeff Cobb, Jushin Thunder Liger & Tiger Mask IV defeated Suzukigun (Lance Archer, Taichi & Yoshinobu Kanemaru)
The former team came out to Liger’s music, which received a tremendous crowd response. Jeff Cobb pinned Yoshinobu Kanemaru with the Tour of the Islands at 7:36.

CHAOS (Will Ospreay, SHO & YOH) vs. Bullet Club (Taiji Ishimori, Yujiro Takahashi & Chase Owens)
Will Ospreay pinned Yujiro Takahashi after the Stormbreaker at 7:57.

Juice Robinson & Toa Henare defeated Jon Moxley & Shota Umino
Toa Henare pinned Shota Umino after the Toa Bottom (uranage) at 6:19. Following his victory over Moxley yesterday, Juice gestured as if he wanted the IWGP US Heavyweight Championship, and they stood each other down in the ring. Moxley hit him with the championship belt and then gave him a uranage through a table.

Hirooki Goto, Togi Makabe, Toru Yano, Tomoaki Honma & Ryusuke Taguchi vs. Los Ingobernables de Japon (Tetsuya Naito, EVIL, SANADA, Shingo Takagi & BUSHI)
SANADA pinned Tomoaki Honma after a top rope moonsault at 8:56.

Bullet Club (Bad Luck Fale, Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa) defeated Tomohiro Ishii, KENTA & YOSHI-HASHI
When Tomohiro Ishii tried to tag in KENTA, KENTA moved his hand away and left the ring, then hit Ishii with the Busaiku Knee Kick and Go 2 Sleep. Tama Tonga pinned Tomohiro Ishii after that at 8:35. After the match, Katsuyori Shibata ran out and attacked KENTA as the crowd erupted. However, Bullet Club ganged up on Shibata and beat him down, and KENTA sat cross-legged on the laid out Shibata.

Suzukigun (Minoru Suzuki & Zack Sabre Jr.) defeated Kazuchika Okada & Hiroshi Tanahashi
This was a really hot tag team match, with the highlight being Shibata eating Okada’s strikes and asking for more, nearly finishing him off right then and there. Minoru Suzuki hit a La Mistica and then pinned Kazuchika Okada with the Gotch-style piledriver. Suzuki got on the microphone and said he wants the IWGP Heavyweight Championship.

G1 Climax 29 Final Match: Kota Ibushi defeated Jay White
All of the Bullet Club came out to ringside with Jay White, but the referee told them all to leave, but Gedo stayed. He tried to interfere in the match almost as soon as the bell rang, and the referee threw him out too. Jay White controlled the match in the early going, frequently working over the right knee of Ibushi that he assaulted yesterday. Ibushi fought back time and again, but his comebacks were cut short by Jay going back to the knee, or Ibushi inadvertently hurting his own knee. White threw Ibushi into the referee and hit a low blow, and then Gedo came back out and gave White a chair, which he used to hit Ibushi’s leg. Ibushi rallied back and White’s strikes seemed to have no effect on him. Gedo tried to interfere, but Ibushi neutralized him and hit a Boma Ye on White. Rocky Romero pulled Gedo out of the ring as Ibushi hit another Boma Ye. White reversed the Kamigoye into a Blade Runner, but Ibushi hit a Kamigoye that White kicked out of. Kota Ibushi hit another Kamigoye and pinned Jay White at 31:01 to win the 29th G1 Climax.

G1 Climax 29 Standings

A BlockPointsB BlockPoints
Kota Ibushi14Jay White12
Kazuchika Okada14Tetsuya Naito10
KENTA8Hirooki Goto10
Hiroshi Tanahashi8Jon Moxley10
EVIL8Tomohiro Ishii 8
SANADA8Toru Yano8
Bad Luck Fale8Jeff Cobb8
Zack Sabre Jr.8Taichi 8
Will Ospreay8Juice Robinson8
Lance Archer6Shingo Takagi8

Trending Articles

WWE RAW Results (8/3): Shane McMahon Returns, Dominik Attacks Rollins

WWE RAW aired from the Performance Center in Orlando. Shane McMahon made his return tonight to debut RAW Underground and Randy Orton...

Two Former WWE Stars Debut During AEW’s Women’s Tag Team Cup Tournament

AEW's Women's Tag Team Cup Tournament kicked off tonight on the company's YouTube channel and it saw the debut of not one...

Eric Young Says That Triple H Did Not Know About His WWE Release

Eric Young was one of the guys Triple H had signed to NXT. He found success in the development territory of the...

Shane McMahon Returns To Reveal RAW Underground

Shane McMahon returned to WWE television Monday night to introduce RAW Underground. The son of WWE Chairman & CEO...

Gallows & Anderson Trying to Lure AJ Styles Back To Impact Wrestling

Former WWE Superstars Karl Anderson and Luke Gallows have made it clear: they want to see AJ Styles back in Impact Wrestling....

Latest Wrestling News

WWE RAW Viewership Up, RAW Underground Debut Does 1.6 Million Viewers (8/3)

Monday’s edition of WWE RAW averaged 1.714 million viewers with a 0.51 rating in the key 18-49 demographic. This was up from...

Enzo Amore Trashes ROH For Poor Handling of MSG Hype from 2019

Former WWE Superstar and 205 Live Cruiserweight Champion Enzo Amore/nZo recently appeared on SiriusXM's Busted Open Radio to discuss a number of...

Backstage News On Potential New Location For WWE SummerSlam

SummerSlam takes place in less than three weeks, but WWE has yet to announce where the summer spectacular will take place.

MJF Taunts AEW Champion Jon Moxley: “What I Did Was a Real Paradigm Shift, Not a Fake One”

AEW star MJF recently appeared on SiriusXM's Busted Open Radio show. The 'Salt of The Earth' appeared on the show to discuss...

Impact Signs Kimber Lee To Contract

Kimber Lee is now officially a member of the Impact roster. She has been performing on recent shows since the promotion began...

Impact Wrestling Emergence: 2-Week Special Event Announced

Impact Wrestling has announced Emergence, a 2-week event that will air on AXS TV later this month. These...

Sonya Deville On Advice She Gave To Tegan Nox

Smackdown's Sonya Deville recently took part in an interview with the International Business Times. During the interview, Deville revealed that Tegan Nox...

Arn Anderson Comments On Women’s Wrestling In 2010

Arn Anderson was working backstage in WWE in 2010. He recently spent some time talking with Conrad Thompson about the Money in...

Eric Bischoff On Moving To Stamford For WWE

Eric Bischoff was the Executive Director of WWE Smackdown from the summer of 2019 until March of 2020. He moved to Stamford,...

Gallows & Anderson Trying to Lure AJ Styles Back To Impact Wrestling

Former WWE Superstars Karl Anderson and Luke Gallows have made it clear: they want to see AJ Styles back in Impact Wrestling....

WWE Superstars Offer Nikki & Brie Bella Parenting Advice

Several WWE Superstars have recorded their congratulations for Brie and Nikki Bella following the births of their newborn sons. The Bella Twins...

Eric Bischoff On RAW’s Declining Viewership, Dynamite’s Recovery During COVID-19

Former SmackDown Executive Director and WCW President Eric Bischoff has commented on RAW's declining viewership. Speaking with Chris Featherstone of Sportskeeda, Bischoff...