NJPW G1 Climax 29 Day 5 Results: Ospreay vs. Ibushi

The main event of G1 Climax 29 Day 5 is Kota Ibushi versus Will Ospreay.

Welcome to our results of NJPW G1 Climax 29 Day 5.

New Japan Pro-Wrestling’s 29th G1 Climax tournament continued today and will run until Day 19 on August 12. Twenty wrestlers compete in blocks of ten against every other wrestler in their block. They gain 2 points for a victory and 1 point for a draw. The wrestler with the most points in each block will move on to a final match, with the winner getting an opportunity to challenge for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom 14 in the Tokyo Dome in January 2020.

One can watch this event on NJPW World with commentary in either English or Japanese.

Undercard Matches

Jon Moxley & Shota Umino defeated Tomohiro Ishii & Yuya Uemura
Shota Umino pinned Yuya Uemura with a bridging fisherman suplex at 5:46. Afterwards, Moxley and Ishii got into a brawl until being broken up by young lions and staff. As Ishii left, Moxley took a chair and sat down in the middle of the ring, taunting Ishii. Ishii found his own chair and did the same on the outside.  Jon Moxley versus Tomohiro Ishii is the main event of Day 6 of the tournament, tomorrow.

Jeff Cobb, Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI defeated Juice Robinson, Toa Henare & Yota Tsuji
YOSHI-HASHI submitted Yota Tsuji with the Butterfly Lock at 9:30. Juice Robinson and Jeff Cobb shook hands after the match. Their G1 match against each other is tomorrow.

Bullet Club (Jay White, Yujiro Takahashi & Chase Owens) defeated Toru Yano, Tomoaki Honma & Ren Narita
The main theme of the match was Toru Yano antagonizing Jay White with his wily chicanery. Chase Owens pinned Ren Narita after a package piledriver at 8:49. Jay White and Toru Yano are against each other in a G1 Climax match tomorrow.

Suzukigun (Taichi, Minoru Suzuki & Yoshinobu Kanemaru) defeated Los Ingobernables de Japon (Shingo Takagi, Tetsuya Naito & BUSHI)
Minoru Suzuki pinned BUSHI after a Gotch-style piledriver at 8:35. It’s Shingo Takagi versus Taichi in the G1 Climax tomorrow. Although they were not in the same match, Tetsuya Naito fights Hirooki Goto tomorrow as well.

G1 Climax Matches

G1 Climax 29 A Block Match: KENTA defeated Lance Archer
KENTA defeated Lance Archer by submission with the Game Over (omoplata crossface) at 11:58. This was the first time KENTA has used the Game Over since joining NJPW. A highlight of the match was Archer yelling “You’re not KENTA, you’re f**king Hideo!” which KENTA slapped him for. KENTA 6 points, Lance Archer 4 points.

G1 Climax 29 A Block Match: EVIL defeated SANADA
This match heavily centered around these stablemates being very competitive and familiar with each other, countering each other’s offense at every turn and using each other’s moves. After a hot finishing stretch, EVIL defeated SANADA by pinfall with the EVIL at 18:11. EVIL 4 points, SANADA 2 points.

G1 Climax 29 A Block Match: Kazuchika Okada defeated Bad Luck Fale
Bad Luck Fale came out dragging Kazuchika Okada from the backstage area, denying him the ability to make his entrance. Chase Owens and Jado interfered on Fale’s behalf, but Okada managed to take them out on his own. Kazuchika Okada defeated Bad Luck Fale by pinfall with a prawn hold at 10:15. This was the first time Okada has ever defeated Fale in the G1 Climax. Okada 6 points, Fale 2 points.

G1 Climax 29 A Block Match: Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Zack Sabre Jr.
This was an unexpectedly frantic match, with both men immediately going for pinning combinations against each other, and Zack targeting the hurt arm of Tanahashi. After a technical match that kept the crowd on edge, Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Zack Sabre Jr. by pinfall with a jackknife hold at 13:56. Tanahashi 2 points, Sabre 0 points.

G1 Climax 29 A Block Match: Kota Ibushi defeated Will Ospreay
Ospreay’s neck and shoulder were heavily taped up and Ibushi attacked those areas with strikes, holds, and suplexes. Early on, Ospreay tried to wear down Ibushi’s hurt ankle, then transitioned to delivering his trademark offense, but was overwhelmed by Ibushi’s physicality. Kota Ibushi won by pinfall after a Kamigoye at 27:16. Ibushi 2 points, Ospreay 2 points.

G1 Climax 29 Standings

A Block

  • KENTA – 6
  • Kazuchika Okada – 6
  • Lance Archer – 4
  • EVIL – 4
  • Bad Luck Fale – 2
  • Kota Ibushi – 2
  • SANADA – 2
  • Will Ospreay – 2
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi – 2
  • Zack Sabre Jr. – 0

B Block

  • Tomohiro Ishii – 4
  • Jon Moxley – 4
  • Juice Robinson – 4
  • Hirooki Goto – 2
  • Shingo Takagi – 2
  • Taichi – 2
  • Toru Yano – 2
  • Jeff Cobb – 0
  • Tetsuya Naito – 0
  • Jay White – 0