MLW Announces National “Openweight” Championship

Major League Wrestling (MLW)

Major League Wrestling (MLW) has announced a new National Championship.

This will be an “open weight” title, making MLW’s entire roster will be eligible to compete for it. MLW boasts a diverse roster of fighters of all sizes. From super heavyweights down to middleweights, the potential match-ups are endless.

A 4-man tournament will be held to crown the first MLW National Champion kicks off next month. The finals take place at Fury Road 2019 on Saturday, June 1st from Milwaukee, Wisconsin’s Waukesha County Expo Center.

Tournament participants will be announced later this month.

“The new championship means bigger fights with greater regularity,” said MLW CEO and founder Court Bauer.

Visit for details on how you can attend Fury Road on June 1st.

MLW’s Current Champions

The new openweight National title will be the fourth championship sanctioned by Major League Wrestling. Current champions include:

  • World Champion: “Filthy” Tom Lawlor
  • Tag Team Champions: The Hart Foundation (Teddy Hart, Davey Boy Smith Jr., Brian Pillman Jr.)
  • Middleweight Champion: Teddy Hart
Previous articleCM Punk Competes In Jiu-Jitsu Tournament
Next articleRonda Rousey Seen Wearing Cast Following Hand Surgery