NJPW Announces All G1 Climax 2018 Competitors

Early this morning from Tokyo, Japan, NJPW announced the full participant list for this year’s G1 Climax tournament. The promotion will announce the full schedule and tournament blocks in the coming days.

The announcement came during the first of two back-to-back shows from Korakuen Hall as part of the Kizuna Road tour.

G1 2018 Participants

  • Kenny Omega
  • Michael Elgin
  • Jay White
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Togi Makabe
  • Juice Robinson
  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Toru Yano
  • Bad Luck Fale
  • Hangman Page
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • EVIL
  • Sanada
  • Minoru Suzuki
  • Zack Sabre Jr
  • Kota Ibushi

Not many changes in the tournament this year. Hangman Page and Jay White both enter the tournament for the first time this year. Nagata said last year would be his last tournament so he’s no longer entered. All heavyweight single’s champions are entered, which should set up some future title matches as well.

NJPW also said that all 19 shows will air live and with English commentary available. Normally, only a select few shows are available live with weekday matches usually being posted later in the day and with no English commentary available.

In addition to the upcoming G1 tournament, NJPW is building towards the show at the Cow Palace on July 7th, 2018. Cody vs Kenny Omega for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship will be the main event of the show. The Cow Palace show creates a unique opportunity for Cody. He will have a chance to win the ROH World Championship, the IWPG Heavyweight Championship, and the NWA World Heavyweight Championship in matches on June 29th, July 7th, and September 1st, 2018.