NWA National Champion To Be Crowned At NWA 70th Anniversary Show

NWA National Heavyweight Championship
NWA National Heavyweight Championship

NWA (National Wrestling Alliance), which is owned by Billy Corgan, announced on Monday (October 1) that the promotion will crown an NWA National Champion at their 70th anniversary show that takes place on October 21st in Nashville, Tennessee at the Nashville Fairgrounds and will be available on pay-per-view (PPV) via Fite.tv.

The NWA announced that there will be 8 competitors who will compete in two 4-man elimination matches with the two winners advancing to the championship match with the winner of this final match being crowned the new NWA National Champion. The competitors will include:

  • Sam Shaw
  • Willie Mack
  • Ricky Starks
  • Sammy Guevara
  • Scorpio Sky
  • Jay Bradley
  • Mike Parrow
  • Colt Cabana

It was also confirmed by Dave Lagana that the promotion will reveal details about another NWA Championship being defended at the 70th Anniversary show, which will either be the Women’s or Tag Team championships.

Cody Rhodes vs. Nick Aldis in a rematch for the NWA World Championship will headline this show. If you recall, Rhodes beat Aldis to win the championship last month at All In.