WWE Intercontinental Championship Tournament Brackets Confirmed

Who will become the new champ

WWE has announced the full bracket for the Intercontinental Title tournament. 

There will be 8 competitors in the tournament. The winner of the tournament will be crowned the new Intercontinental Champion. 

AJ Styles, Daniel Bryan, Drew Gulak, Elias, Jeff Hardy, King Corbin, Sheamus, and Shinsuke Nakamura were confirmed as competitors. You can see the matches here: 

  • AJ Styles vs. Shinsuke Nakamura
  • Jeff Hardy vs. Sheamus
  • Daniel Bryan vs. Drew Gulak
  • Elias vs. King Corbin

WWE booked Elias vs. King Corbin and Daniel Bryan vs. Drew Gulak on Friday Night SmackDown this week. 

WWE has yet to confirm when the tournament finals of this tournament will take place. 

This tournament came about due to WWE stripping Sami Zayn of the title earlier this week. The reason for this booking decision was due to Zayn being off of television.

While not confirmed, there’s a belief that Zayn has decided against wrestling during the COVID-19 outbreak due to concerns he has with getting it.

Zayn won the championship at the Elimination Chamber pay-per-view event back on March 8. It should be noted that WrestleMania 36, which saw Zayn defend against Daniel Bryan, marked Zayn’s first and only title defense since winning it. 

Sami Zayn Not Working Causing ‘A Lot Of Unhappiness’ In WWE

Previous articleWWE NXT Star Released After Reportedly Making Complaints About Medical Team
Next articleWWE SmackDown Results (5/15): Strowman & Otis Team Up, IC Title Tournament