Rock N Roll Express To Compete In NWA Crockett Cup


The Rock N Roll Express will compete in the upcoming Crockett Cup.

One of the most decorated tag teams in pro-wrestling history will compete in the upcoming Crockett Cup. The Rock N Roll Express will enter the 2019 version of the tag team tournament. Ricky Morton and Robert Gibson are just the 4th confirmed team for the event.

The famed-tournament from the mid-80s will be resurrected by Billy Corgan’s NWA later this month.

The event will take place on April 27th, 2019. It will be held in Concord, North Carolina’s Cabarrus Arena & Events Center.

Rock N Roll Express Return To Crockett Cup

- Advertisement -

The only match announced for the event thus far is Nick Aldis defending the NWA World Heavyweight championship against Marty Scurll. This will be the 4th edition of the tournament and the first since 1988.

Other teams confirmed for the tournament thus far include:

  • The War Kings (Crimson and Jax Dane)
  • Mark & Jay Briscoe
  • PCO & Brody King
  • A team representing CMLL
  • A team representing NJPW

Crockett Cup Tournament History

The Road Warriors were the first team to win the Crockett Cup when they did so in 1986. They defeated Ronnie Garvin and Magnum TA in the tournament finals.

Nikita Koloff and Dusty Rhodes won the 2nd edition of the tournament in 1987. They beat Lex Luger and Tully Blanchard in the finals that year.

Lex Luger and Sting won the 1988 version of the tournament defeating Arn Anderson and Tully Blanchard in the finals.